UK Coaching Awards 2015

UK Coaching Awards winners and finalists

The UK Coaching Awards honour sports coaches and coaching organisations who have demonstrated outstanding success over the previous 12 months.

Hosted by sports coach UK, the showpiece event is seen as one of the most prestigious within the coaching community. Now in its 18th year, it raises the profile of coaches and the role they play in encouraging participation, performance and excellence. Previous winners include the most successful coaches from a wide variety of sports.

Awards are made following a public nominations process and decision by an expert judging panel. There are eight award categories for coaches and three for awards in support of coaching, plus the overall title of UK Coach of the Year. That means there's a category for every aspect of coaching, from volunteers working at a local level in the community right through to full-time professional coaches working with our national teams. 

The black-tie event was held at the iconic Midland Hotel in Manchester. The winners were:

Governing Body of the Year Award: British Cycling
Coach Developer of the Year Award:Richard Shepherd
Coaching Intervention of the Year Award: Ulster Sports Outreach
Community Coach of the Year Award: Dr Penny Rother
Heather Crouch Young Coach of the Year Award: Andrew Pink
Lifetime Achievement Award: Colin McIver
Children's Coach of the Year Award: Gary Coupland
Disability Coach of the Year Award: Wendy Russell
Performance Development Coach of the Year Award: Andrew Stewart
High Performance Coach of the Year Award: Danny Kerry
UK Coach of the Year Award: Brian McDermott

A full round up of the event can be found on our news page.


To access photos from the event please visit the full event gallery using the code SC2015 when you wish to download.