Coaching in the UK

Finalists announced for prestigious UK Coaching Awards

Mon, 24 Oct 2016

The finalists for the UK Coaching Awards, which will be held on the 29 November at the Holiday Inn, Wembley, have been announced.

From hundreds of nominees, an expert judging panel have carefully deliberated and selected the following finalists for each award category:

•    Children's Coach of the Year:

Fionnuala Duhaney-Keown (Basketball), Kieran Brown (Gymnastics), Mike Keen (Rugby)

•    Coach Developer of the Year:

Kath Robinson (Hockey), Jane Lomax (Netball), Rus Smith (Various)

•    Coaching Intervention of the Year:

Coach Education and Apprenticeship Provider (Sport Structures), Mums' Team (Yorkshire Sport Foundation), Somali Rugby Development (England Rugby)

•    Community Coach of the Year:

Mark Montgomery (Judo), Sally Carns (Netball), Sunil Birdy (Boccia)

•    Disability Coach of the Year:

Anders Mankert (Golf), Debbie Bashford (Basketball & Boccia), Dirk Van der Merwe (Karate)

•    Governing Body of the Year:

British Cycling, British Horseracing Authority, British Weightlifting

•    Heather Crouch Young Coach of the Year:

Elan Mon Gilford (Netball), Jessie Ansell (Cycling), Kieran Henderson (Football)

•    High Performance Coach of the Year:

Anthony Hughes (Athletics), Danny Kerry (Hockey), Eddie van Hoof (Gymnastics), Iain Dyer (Cycling), Nelson Lindsay (Swimming), Rob Greenwood (Swimming)

•    Lifetime Achievement Award:

Eddie McCluskey (Swimming), Jurgen Grobler (Rowing), Nick Evans (Cricket)

•    Performance Development Coach of the Year:

Jen Leeming (Diving), Martin Boatman (Sailing), Rodi Greene (Horse Racing)

Mark Gannon, Chief Executive Officer of Sports Coach UK said, “Year after year our expert judging panel struggle to narrow down hundreds of nominees to our finalists and this year has been no exception; arguably it’s been an even greater task due to the multitude of sporting success we’ve had.

“These awards are a fantastic way for us to shine a spotlight on and express our gratitude and appreciation to the coaches who support and inspire us through sport and activity to achieve our goals.”

Seen as one of the most prestigious award ceremonies within the coaching community, the annual event – now in its 19th year – honours the sports coaches and coaching organisations who have demonstrated success over the previous 12 months, as well as being a perfect opportunity to raise the profile of coaches and the role they play at all levels of sport and physical activity.

Also to be announced on the night is overall title of UK Coach of the Year. Previous winners of the latter include Leeds Rhinos’ Brian McDermott and Toni Minichiello – coach of the recently retired Olympic and world gold medallist Jessica Ennis-Hill.

Add to My Folder