Coaching in the UK

PE Keeps four Stages Under New National Curriculum

Fri, 13 Sep 2013

Secretary of State for Education, the Rt Hon Michael Gove MP has published the new national curriculum.

Under the new curriculum physical education retains its four Key Stages, the aim of which is to ensure that all pupils:

  • develop competence to excel in a broad range of physical activities
  • are physically active for sustained periods of time
  • engage in competitive sports and activities
  • lead healthy, active lives

Swimming and water safety also remains compulsory at Key Stages 1 and 2.

For more information on the four Key Stages of the PE National Curriculum please click here.

The new curriculum has been published following a review and consultationand will provide a basis for teaching. It has been significantly slimmed down with the aim of allowing teachers to use their professional judgement to design curricula that meet the needs of their pupils.

It sets out expectations for children that match the curricula used in the world’s most successful school systems.

The majority of the new national curriculum will come into force from September 2014, so schools will now have a year to prepare to teach it.

Add to My Folder