Coaching in the UK

UK Coaching Award runner-up Siva Ramasamy wins the Professional Footballers Association (PFA) Coach of the Year Award

Tue, 09 Feb 2016

Siva BEDSA Award image(London, 7 February 2016): Following a nomination and receiving runner-up at the 2015 UK Coaching Awards in the Tim Lewis Performance Development category, Siva Ramasamy has won the Professional Footballers Association (PFA) Coach of the Year Award at the Lycamobile British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards (BEDSA). The Awards which were held at JW Marriott Grosvenor House, Park Lane, London were attended by sportstars from across the country including Super-middleweight James DeGale, former England football international Sol Campbell and England International Eni Aluko. 

Siva was selected by a panel of expert judges including Rugby World Cup winner Maggie Alphonsi MBE, former West Bromwich Albion favourite Brendon Batson OBE and retired international athletes Derek Redmond and Jason Gardner MBE.

Simone Pound, Head of Equalities at the PFA has said of the award: “The PFA is delighted to sponsor the Coach of the Year Award. The role of a coach is instrumental to create a great player and winning team. All nominees for the Award should take great pride in the contribution they are making in the game. We would like to wish them and all aspiring and current coaches every future success regardless of age, disability, ethnicity, faith, gender and sexuality”.

Taekwando coach Siva has been coaching since the age of 17 when he began teaching alongside competing at National and International level. Siva works at Gurumu Taekwando which has 189 active members training on a weekly basis. It is one of just first clubs in Great Britain to be awarded GB Taekwando’s prestigious ‘Talent Club’ status. A concept that recognises clubs that prioritise Sport Taekwando. Siva also recieved the honour of being a torch bearer for the Olympic Games in 2012. 

Siva has said: “I must take this opportunity to thank my incredible team at Gurumu both coaches and athletes for their unconditional support and trust in me, also GB Taekwondo for giving me the opportunity to work on some really exciting projects over the years and supporting my development. Finally, all the coaches and athletes that I have worked with within the wider Taekwondo community.”

Arun Kang, Chief Executive Officer of Sporting Equals who founded the British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards said: “Siva has been a top coach in the GB Taekwando community for years now and it is fantastic that we can recognise this with his win as the PFA Coach of the Year at the 2016 BEDSA Awards.”


About the BEDSAs

The British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards (BEDSA) was established by Sporting Equals in 2015, to celebrate sporting excellence within BME communities and help inspire the next generation.

The awards span eleven categories including: Young Sports Person of the Year; Unsung Hero Award; Coach of the Year; Community Sports Project; Inspirational Performance of the Year; Sportsman of the Year; Sportswoman of the Year; Lifetime Achievement Award; Tennis Foundation Special Recognition Award; University of Leicester Special Recognition Award. 

Lycamobile are the title sponsor of the event and Subaskaran Allirajah, the Lycamobile chairman, said: “The British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards rightly celebrate the huge sporting achievements of black and ethnic minority communities across the UK, as well as helping to inspire the next generation. It’s a great celebration that we’re proud to be a part of for a second year”.

The British Ethnic Diversity Awards 2016 are also supported by a number of sponsors and partners, including Jaguar, University of Leicester, Sport England, Youth Sport Trust, the Professional Footballers Association, the Tennis Foundation and UK Sport. 

To find out more about the British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards please visit:

The full list of awards and finalists can be found here: 



Youth Sport Trust Young Sports Person of the Year

Easah Suliman

Jaguar Unsung Hero

Raza Sadiq

University of Leicestershire Special Recognition Award

Paul Elliott

The Professional Footballers Association Coach of the Year

Siva Ramasamy

UK Sport Inspirational Performance of the Year

Rachel Choong

Sport England Community Sports Project

Swim Dem Crew

Tennis Foundation Special Recognition Award

Rashida Salloo

Sporting Equals Lifetime Achoevement Award

Frank Bruno

SE Leaderboard Sportswomen of the Year

Jess Ennis-Hill

Lycamobile Sportsman of the Year

Lewis Hamilton


Add to My Folder