UK Coaching Awards 2010

Peter Cowen Named 2010 Coach of the Year

Lee Westwood’s coach Peter Cowen was named UK Coach of the Year at the 2010 UK Coaching Awards.

Cowen was presented with the gong in a glittering ceremony that took place at the Brewery, London on 30 November.

 A successful night for Cowen also saw him win the High-performance Coach of the Year Award.

In 2010 Cowen has helped Westwood to become the top-rated golfer in the world, taking the number one position from Tiger Woods. He is also the coach of Graham McDowell who won the US Open, and British Open winner Louis Oosthuizen.

England Cricket coach Andy Flower and Great Britain Boxing Performance Director Rob McCracken were also in contention for the High-performance Award.

Elsewhere, legendary cricket coach Jack Birkenshaw won the Lifetime Achievement Award (supported by Coachwise Ltd). The former England allrounder enjoyed County Championship success in 1996 as coach of Leicestershire - their first title in 21 years -  and in 1998. Recently he helped the England Women’s team to silverware as assistant to Head Coach Mark Lane.

The coaches of England Women’s Rugby Union star Maggie Alphonsi were named as the winners of the Coaching Chain Award. The award recognises the coaches that have contributed to a sportsperson’s success. This can include inspiring and motivating an athlete, nurturing a talent and supporting their development. Receiving the gong were Alphonsi’s:

  • PE teacher Liza Burgess
  • first rugby coach Katie Ball
  • first senior club coach Amanda Bennett
  • first international head coach Geoff Richard
  • first academy coach and current international coach Gary Street
  • current international assistant coach Graham Smith

Maggie said: “I have so much to thank all my coaches for, not only the time that they have given to me personally but also for their expertise and patience - in particular when times got tough and I was still pushing for more from them.”

The full list of winners is shown below.

Awards in Support of Coaches

  • Coach Educator of the Year: Gordon Lord (ECB)

  • Governing Body of the Year: England Hockey Board

  • Coaching Intervention of the Year: Premier League for Sport (PL4S)


Awards for Coaches

sport scotland logo
  • Young Coach of the Year (Supported by sportscotland): Mike Bohndiek (Cricket)


sport scotland logo
  • Participation Coach of the Year: Brian Wright (Cycling)

  • Performance Development Coach of the Year: Jan Crabtree (Netball)

  • High Performance Coach of the Year: Peter Cowen (Golf)

  • Lifetime Achievement Award (Supported by Coachwise Ltd): Jack Birkenshaw (Cricket)


sport scotland logo
  • The Coaching Chain: The Appreciation of Coaching Award: Coaches of Maggie Alphonsi (Rugby Union)

  • 2010 UK Coach of the Year Award: Peter Cowen (Golf)

The UK Coach of the Year Award was chosen from the winners of:

  • Children's Coach of the Year
  • Participation Coach of the Year
  • Performance-Development Coach of the Year
  • High-Performance Coach of the Year


With thanks to Sports Coach Links, Global Coach Development; All Sports, All Nations.

Add to My Folder