UK Coaching Awards 2016

The 2016 UK Coaching Awards were made following a public nominations process and decision by an expert judging panel. There were eight award categories for coaches and three for awards in support of coaching, plus the overall title of UK Coach of the Year. That means a category for every aspect of coaching, from volunteers working at a local level in the community right through to full-time professional coaches working with our national teams.

Here are the winners from this year's event:

Awards for coaches

The following categories will be awarded to coaches:

  • Children's Coach of the Year: Kieran Brown (Gymnastics)
  • Community Coach of the Year: Sunil Birdy (Boccia)
  • Performance Development Coach of the Year: Martin Boatman (Sailing)
  • High Performance Coach of the Year: Rob Greenwood (Swimming) and Eddie Van Hoof (Gymnastics)
  • Heather Crouch Young Coach of the Year: Kieran Henderson (Football)
  • Disability Coach of the Year: Dirk Van Der Merwe (Karate)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Jurgen Grobler (Rowing)
  • UK Coach of the Year: Eddie Van Hoof (Gymnastics)

Awards in support of coaches

The following categories will be awarded in support of coaches:

  • Coach Developer of the Year: Katherine Robinson (Hockey)
  • Coaching Intervention of the Year: Somali Rugby Development (RFU)
  • Governing Body of the Year: British Horseracing AUthority

This year the Coaching Chain was won by the coaches of Kate Richardson-Walsh: Beverly Kinder, Pete Atwell, Maggie Souyave, Tricia Heberle, Jon Royce, Danny Kerry

Read a round up of the event.

Add to My Folder